Droupadi Murmu takes oath as 15th President of India

Monday, 25 July 2022 (10:58 IST)
New Delhi: Droupadi Murmu on Monday took oath as the 15th President of India at a ceremony in Parliament's Central Hall here.

Chief Justice NV Ramana administered the oath of office to the former Jharkhand governor who became the first tribal and second woman President of the country.

Former President Ram Nath Kovind, Prime Minister Nraendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh were among many others who attended the historic ceremony.

Addressing the nation after being sworn in, Murmu Monday said she was honoured to take charge at a time India was completing 75 years of Independence. She added that she’s the first President to be born in independent India.

She also reminded the nation that her ascendance to the highest post in the country is evidence that the poor and backward communities in India cannot not just dream big but can also achieve them.

Ahead of her swearing-in ceremony she paid tribute to Father of the Nation Mahatma Gandhi at the Rajghat here.

Murmu, along with Kovind was given the national salute by the Presidents Bodyguards earlier ahead of the swearing in ceremony

She will be honoured with a 21-gun salute after her address. (UNI)

Read on Webdunia

Related Article