Australia make squad adjustments for Chappell-Hadlee Trophy


Monday, 19 February 2024 (16:29 IST)
T20 World Cup 2021 winners Australia have been forced into late squad changes ahead of their away T20I series with New Zealand.With the likes of Marcus Stoinis and Aaron Hardie ruled out of the series, fast bowler Spencer Johnson has been raced into the squad late ahead of the first match on February 21.

Adam Zampa should be available for the series despite a delay in reaching New Zealand due to a logistical issue, while Matthew Wade will link up with the squad in Auckland for matches two and three.Stoinis injured his back in the recently concluded T20I series against West Indies, with Hardie missing out on pressing for a spot in the upcoming T20 World Cup squad after complaining of a calf issue.

The Chappell-Hadlee Trophy is named in honour of Australia's cricketing brothers Ian, Greg and Trevor Chappell and the New Zealand cricket dynasty of Walter Hadlee and sons Barry, Dayle and Sir Richard, an ICC report said.

The teams will compete for the trophy across both white-ball formats, with the endorsement of both the Chappell and Hadlee families, and given the significance of the series with a T20 World Cup in June.Former New Zealand great Sir Richard Hadlee said the changes will enhance future series.

"It's great that the trophy will have more visibility and profile. I like the new conditions too - especially in the event of back-to-back 20-over and 50-over series," Hadlee said.
"It means all games will continue to be relevant, and that the trophy will remain on the line for a longer period - plenty to play for," he added. (UNI)

Australia T20 squad: Mitchell Marsh (c), Pat Cummins, Tim David, Nathan Ellis, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Spencer Johnson, Glenn Maxwell, Matt Short, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

New Zealand T20 Squad: Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Josh Clarkson, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Will Young

T20I series schedule:

1st T20I, February 21, Sky Stadium, Wellington

2nd T20I, February 23, Eden Park, Auckland

3rd T20I, February 25, Eden Park, Auckland.

Read on Webdunia

Related Article