BCCI Awards 2024: Gill, Ashwin, Shami, Bumrah win best international cricketer award; Shastri, Engineer honoured


Wednesday, 24 January 2024 (13:16 IST)
Hyderabad: Former India wicketkeeper Farokh Engineer and allrounder Ravi Shastri were bestowed with the Col CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Awards at the glittering Naman Awards ceremony in Hyderabad.
Celebrating Indian Cricket and recognising performances both at the domestic and international level, the Naman Awards for the past four seasons (2019-20, 2020-21, 2021-22, and 2022-23) were presented on Tuesday.
For their outstanding performances, Mohammad Shami (2019-20), Ravichandran Ashwin (2020-21), and Shubman Gill (2022-23) received the Polly Umrigar Award for Best International Men's Cricketer, while Jasprit Bumrah, who had received this award in the 2018–19 season, received his second for the 2021-22 season.
Similarly, Smriti Mandhana, who was named the Best International Woman Cricketer in 2017-18, claimed the top award for the second time for her breakthrough performances in 2020–21 and also 2021–22.
Meanwhile, Deepti Sharma swept awards for the seasons 2019–20 and 2022–23.
Recognising the pivotal role they play in the smooth conduct of over 2000 domestic matches every season, KN Ananthapadmanabhan, Vrinda Rathi, Jayaraman Madan Gopal, and Rohan Pandit were awarded the Best Umpire in Domestic Cricket for 2019–20, 2020–21, 2021–22, and 2022–23, respectively.
Among State Associations, Mumbai received the Best Performance Award in BCCI Domestic Tournaments for 2019-20 for winning the Vijay Merchant Trophy, the Women’s U23 T20 Trophy, finishing runnerup in the Vinoo Mankad Trophy, and making it to the semi-finals of the Col CK Nayudu Trophy and the Cooch Behar Trophy.
Madhya Pradesh won the award for the 2021–22 season for winning the Ranji Trophy, finishing runner-up in the Women’s U19 one-day Trophy, and a semi-final finish in the Col CK Nayudu Trophy.
Saurashtra claimed the top prize for the 2022–23 season for their title triumph in the Ranji Trophy, the Vijay Hazare Trophy, and also the Men’s U25 State A trophy.

Read on Webdunia

Related Article