IND vs NZ: Shubman Gill's record-breaking ton helps India win T20I series 2-1

Thursday, 2 February 2023 (12:19 IST)
Ahmedabad: Shubman Gill's record-breaking ton helped India clinch 2-1 the three-match T20I series against New Zealand at Narendra Modi Stadium here on Wednesday.
Batting first, India piled on highest-ever 234/4 against New Zealand. In reply, the Black Caps were bowled out for 66 in 12.1 overs, handing out a thumping 168-run win. This in fact was India's biggest ever win in T20Is.
The day was hogged by Gill who became just the 5th Indian batsman to score centuries in all formats of the game.
In form of his life, Gill cracked his maiden T20I ton, going past Virat Kohli's record of becoming the highest individual scorer for India in T20Is. Kohli had smoked his maiden T20I century for India, scoring 122 off 61 balls against Afghanistan at the Asia Cup 2022, a record which lasted only 146 days.
Gill remained unbeaten at 126 off 63 balls with the help of 12 boundaries and 7 sixes.
The centurion took the back seat while batting with Rahul Tripathi and Suryakumar Yadav. His partners were on song with Tripathi smacking 44 runs in 22 balls, a knock studded with four boundaries and three sixes, and Suryakumar made 24 off 13 balls with a boundary and 2 sixes.
After their departures, Gill took on the mantle to press for quick runs till the end of India's innings.
Gill became only the fifth Indian to hit hundreds across all formats of the game, joining Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina and KL Rahul.
He also surpassed Raina's record of becoming the youngest Indian batsman to hit a T20I century. Gill achieved the milestone in 23 years and 146 days, just 10 days short of Raina, who had scored 101 against South Africa in 2010 aged 23 years and 156 days.
Opting to bat first, India started off badly. Ishan Kishan (1) was trapped LBW by Michael Bracewell on the eighth ball of the match.
Gill added 80 runs with Tripathi for the second wicket inside seven overs, and then sewed 103 runs partnership for fourth wicket with captain Hardik Pandya who scored 30 runs off 17 balls. He clobbered four boundaries and a six.
Chasing a mammoth 234, New Zealand received early blows that did not give them any chance to refurbish. Suryakumar took two splendid catches at slip as Pandya struck two early blows, while Arshdeep Singh scalped as many wickets from the other end.
Speedster Umran Malik and Shivam Mavi chipped in with two apiece, while Pandya returned to add two more.
Daryl Mitchell was the top-scorer for New Zealand, managing to score 35, with the next best being 13 scored by Mitchell Santner. (UNI)

Read on Webdunia

Related Article