IPL 2022, DC vs RR: Delhi Capitals aim to bounce back against Rajasthan Royals

Wednesday, 11 May 2022 (16:10 IST)
Mumbai: Delhi Capitals will look to bounce back in the IPL 2022 when they meet Rajasthan Royals at the DY Patil Sports Academy on Wednesday.

The last time the two teams met, Royals handed Capitals a 15-run defeat amid a no-ball controversy. Since then, Royals have managed to reach third position on the points table, whereas Capitals are at fifth spot.

While Royals are heading into the match on the back of a 6-wicket win over Punjab Kings, Capitals suffered a massive 91-run defeat at the hands of Chennai Super Kings.

Royals altered their combination, but the result turned out to be fruitful with Yashasvi Jaiswal playing a match-winning knock of 68 off 41. The team has multiple big hitters, including the likes of Jos Buttler and Shimron Hetmyer who can change the match from any given point on their day. Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Prasidh Krishna and Trent Boult will lead the bowling unit.

On the other hand, Capitals are terribly missing their opener Prithvi Shaw who revealed he had been admitted to a hospital due to fever. The other opener and ever reliant David Warner has been doing the bulk of scoring for his team. However, he desperately needs support from the other end.

Skipper Rishabh Pant is not able to convert the starts into big ones, an issue that the team management needs to address on an urgent basis. Bowling wise, Khaleel Ahmed and Anrich Nortje would be expected to get early breakthroughs, while Kuldeep Yadav would be backed to dry up runs in the middle overs.


Rajasthan Royals: Sanju Samson (wk/c), Jos Buttler, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Shimron Hetmyer, Devdutt Padikkal, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Riyan Parag, KC Cariappa, Navdeep Saini, Obed McCoy, Anunay Singh, Kuldeep Sen, Karun Nair, Dhruv Jurel, Tejas Baroka, Kuldip Yadav, Shubham Garhwal, James Neesham, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Rassie van der Dussen, Daryl Mitchell.

Delhi Capitals: Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (wk/c), Lalit Yadav, Rovman Powell, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mustafizur Rahman, Chetan Sakariya, Mandeep Singh, Srikar Bharat, Sarfaraz Khan, Tim Seifert, Lungi Ngidi, Ashwin Hebbar, Praveen Dubey, Khaleel Ahmed, Anrich Nortje, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Vicky Ostwal. (UNI)

Read on Webdunia

Related Article