IPL 2022, MI vs CSK: Bottom-placed Mumbai Indians to play Chennai Super Kings

Thursday, 12 May 2022 (14:53 IST)
Mumbai: Arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) will face-off in the 59th match of Indian Premier League (IPL) here at the Wankhede Stadium on Thursday.

With two wins in 11 games, Mumbai are rooted at the bottom of the standings while CSK are placed ninth with four wins and seven losses to their name.

When the two sides met each other last time, MS Dhoni's 6 runs off the final 4 deliveries helped CSK beat MI by 3 wickets.

Chennai are coming on the back of a massive 91-run win over Delhi Capitals. On the other hand, Mumbai suffered a 52-run loss against Kolkata Knight Riders.

For CSK, Devon Conway has been in good form and has scored three consecutive half-centuries. Ruturaj Gaikwad returned to his form and will be looking to give Super Kings a fiery start. Skipper Dhoni has been consistently giving the finishing touch for the team. Dwayne Bravo leads the charts with the ball and has scalped 16 wickets so far. Maheesh Theekshana and Moeen Ali are the added positives.

Ishan Kishan has scored in the last few games for MI. Tilak Verma is the highest run-getter for the team. Bowling-wise, Jasprit Bumrah, who has claimed a 5-fer against KKR, will be looking to continue the same form to dismantle CSK batting line-up. Daniel Sams and Murugan Ashwin will provide support from the other end to keep Chennai batters silent.

Chennai Super Kings squad: MS Dhoni (c/wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Robin Uthappa, Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, Chris Jordan, Subhranshu Senapati, Dwaine Pretorius, Mukesh Choudhary, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Dwayne Bravo, Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Mitchell Santner, Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Prashant Solanki, KM Asif, Simarjeet Singh, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Maheesh Theekshana, Bhagath Varma, Matheesha Pathirana.

Mumbai Indians squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Ishan Kishan (wk), Kieron Pollard, Jasprit Bumrah, Tim David, Jaydev Unadkat, Riley Meredith, Daniel Sams, Fabian Allen, Mayank Markande, Murugan Ashwin, Basil Thampi, Anmolpreet Singh, Dewald Brevis, Tilak Varma, Aryan Juyal (Wk), Arjun Tendulkar, Ramandeep Singh, Rahul Buddhi, Hrithik Shokeen, Sanjay Yadav, Arshad Khan, Tristan Stubbs. (UNI)

Read on Webdunia

Related Article